Six copyright myths

“This is a sample of the heated exchange at the file-sharing debate about the induce act: “Taking and sharing are two different things,” Jaffe said. “Sharing is not piracy. No one has ever challenged the RIAA lawsuits.” In reply, someone from the audience yelled, “Give me that jacket! We need to share it.”. In the real world I wouldn’t have given my jacket to anybody. On the internet, I could make a virtual duplicate and share it with everybody. Why? Because I could keep my jacket and make another soul happy. That’s what sharing is all about and it’s why the internet works so well. It’s the simple difference between physical and non-physical products.

According to Copyright law, it’s illegal to share. However, Copyright law isn’t capable of handling issues on the internet. It’s only suited to handle conflicts related to the real world.”
P2PNet, http://p2pnet.net/story/3054

